About Us



Mission Statement

Our mission is to provide shelter and basic needs to Dawson County’s homeless dogs and cats.

Statement of Purpose

We will evaluate potentially adoptable animals, improve their health and physical appearance, and provide suitable forums for their adoption.  We will spay or neuter, when appropriate, all adoptable dogs and cats prior to adoption. We will educate the general public as to humane animal care.

Our Shelter
We are very proud of the hard work and sacrifice that enabled us to build our Humane Society facility.  The founders of our organization had a vision that became a reality in April 2008, and we now provide a safe haven to adoptable dogs and cats as they await their “forever homes.”
We became a no kill shelter in September 2012 after a year of meeting the no kill status requirements. 
********Starting April 4, we will be temporarily closed to the public.  Governor Kemp has issued a Shelter in Place order for the entire state of Georgia beginning April 3 at 6 p.m. through Monday, April 13 at 11:59 p.m. 
Our staff will continue to take good care of our sweet animals, but unfortunately we will have to stop visits to the shelter until April 14.  ********

Shelter Hours:  

Mondays – closed to the public

Tuesday-Friday 11:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Saturday 12:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.

Sunday 1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.


Phone:  706-265-9160  Fax:  706-265-1804

PLEASE NOTE:  We are a shelter only with no authority for picking up stray animals.  Please contact Dawson County Animal Control.


DCHS Management

Our organization is comprised of a Board of Directors (officers and directors), shelter executive director and staff, and a dedicated group of volunteers and community supporters.

Board Executive Officers for 2018-2020
Vice President, Edward L. Holton, DVM –  vpresident@dawsoncountyhumanesociety.org
Second Vice President, Terri Tragesser – bordercollie@windstream.net
Secretary, Donna Bolton – pabolton@windstream.net
Jeanne Franklin, CPA – Treasurer

Directors are Isabelle Smock (Honorary), Susan Sexton, Henry Zuckerman and Carolyn Bowen (Immediate Past President).

Shelter Executive Director
Jason Hutcherson

Shelter Veterinarian
Dr. Dana Croy